Helping Drivers Save Money Since 2011 

cheap car insurance for young drivers

 

 

Who Needs Car Insurance in Pennsylvania?

cheap car insurance for young drivers 

Car insurance is one of the many things the people need. This is most needed by people who travel a lot in their car. Since we all know that accidents happen anytime, it is important that people have car insurances to help them in case these things happen. In Pennsylvania, certain laws are made when it comes to who must have car insurance. With this being said, many people are getting their car insured.

The state of Pennsylvania mandates that all drivers must have a license and must maintain their financial responsibility. Besides this law, the people of Pennsylvania are also required to have auto insurance that should cover a good amount of damages in case emergencies or accidents happen. So who needs car insurance in this state? Here are some of the common things covered in car insurances in Pennsylvania:

  • Bodily injury and property damage– the state of Pennsylvania requires drivers to have bodily injury and property damage coverage. This is important whenever you have car insurance since it will cover you against any damages or injuries during accidents. In this state, drivers are required to carry at least $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident and $5,000 in property damage. This coverage is also known as the 15/30/5.
  • Lapse in Coverage– in this state, drivers who do not maintain an auto insurance coverage may be subjected to penalties and suspensions. Those drivers who are uninsured can face a minimum fine of at least $300 as well as a three months suspension of driving privileges and car registration. The state of Pennsylvania requires drivers to surrender their car plate and registration papers to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation immediately. This means that they are not allowed to drive during suspension. In addition to these fees, drivers must pay at least $50 for their driver’s license and car restoration.
  • Physical Damage Coverage– in Pennsylvania, drivers are not required to carry physical damage coverage. But if you are paying for your own car or if you have a lease then you are required to have physical damage coverage. This physical damage coverage will help cover your car against damages like fire, act of animals, theft and colliding with other objects.
  • Tort– one thing you have to know about Pennsylvania is that they are a no-fault state. This means that drivers are required to carry tort in their car insurance. They can choose between full tort and limited tort coverage. A full tort means that policy holders are allowed to reserve all their rights to file suit against the other party for injuries and other expenses that was incurred during an accident. However, limited tort coverage restricts policy holders from collecting on non-economic injuries and damages such as pain and suffering.

There are different car insurance policies in every state. This is what the law requires drivers in the state of Pennsylvania. So if you happen to think about transferring to this state then you know how their car insurance policies work. This is also good information for you to have in case you do live in Pennsylvania and are looking for car insurance policies. Just remember that car insurance will definitely be a big help for you in case of emergencies. So regardless of what kind of policy you take, it is always a good thing to have you car insured. You may never know when you will need it.